Becky’s Two Hundred and Thirty Ninth Book Review: “The Waitress” by Melissa Nathan

“The Waitress” by Melissa Nathan was a quirky chic-lit book that I just happened upon. I’m not certain where it came from, but it appeared on my bookshelf when I was looking for a light read, so I grabbed it. I was a little surprised at the different directions that the book went off in, but overall found myself interested in Katie. The book has a romantic side to it, but there is also a lot of focus on Katie trying to discover who she is and who she wants to be.

Part of what I enjoyed about “The Waitress” was just how relatable I found Katie to be – her indecisive nature, her attitude towards life, her ability to get super lost while driving, her extreme sarcastic nature – all attributes that I share. Her knack for becoming comfortable right before she has to wake up: “She rolled over. And then, oh joy, she was unable to move. She was, quite unexpectedly, more comfortable than she had ever been in her life. She focused on it so as not to forget the feeling. Yes, her body had chanced upon a position that made all other positions a nonsense. Her limbs felt light with the luxury of it. The spaced between them were perfection. There was probably an equation for it. Every feather in her duvet had found its optimum position, and as for her pillow, it was a cloud. Her head seemed to be cushioned in cotton wool. All thoughts were clear here. All emotions profound. Was this what heaven felt like? Why, she thought, had this not happened ten hours ago? Why had she spent an entire night trying to get this comfortable? Why had she not tried this position? It was hardly complicated. Her body almost hummed with happiness. She was the closest she’d ever come to purring. It felt as if time had stood still.” (The Waitress, pg 110/111). I thought this was pretty funny, and a good illustration of the way that Melissa Nathan writes.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, it was a fun read and it wasn’t overly predictable like many chic-lit novels tend to be. I liked that in addition to the perspective of Katie, we got a peak into the other character’s minds. I wouldn’t have minded a little more development with the other characters, but it was enjoyable. I probably wouldn’t go out of my way to read “The Waitress” again, but it was worth reading once. If I happened upon another novel by Melissa Nathan, I would read it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

