Becky’s Two Hundred and Thirty-Second Book Review: “Shopaholic to the Rescue” by Sophie Kinsella

“Shopaholic to the Rescue” by Sophie Kinsella was amazing. I have always been a fan of Sophie Kinsella and I can relate so well to the main character in the shopaholic series – Becky Brandon nèe Bloomwood. I have to say, I think Kinsella outdid herself; I enjoyed this book so much.

SPOILER ALERT – Don’t read further if you haven’t read the previous Shopaholic books! (Unless of course you don’t care about spoilers.)

“Shopaholic to the Rescue” picks up right where “Shopaholic to the Stars” left off. Becky, Luke, Suze, Becky’s mom, Janice, Alicia-bitch-longlegs, and Minnie are in an RV on a mission to find Becky’s dad and Suze’s husband. The group believes that Tarquin (Suze’s husband) was brainwashed by Bryce and they don’t know what is going on with Becky’s dad beyond a mysterious message saying he had to put something right. Despite the serious situation that everyone believed themselves to be in, I was giggling into my book by page two. I love the way that Kinsella writes these novels. She breaks the narration up with letters and emails that add to the story in such a unique way. I was very pleased to see the return of her old bank manager in these email communications.

I love Becky, but I think that Minnie has become my favorite character in the Shopaholic books. She is just hilarious. I think that Sophie Kinsella has a real talent for capturing the behaviors of a two-year-old, and it is safe to say that Minnie is not your average child. “She doesn’t yell “Miiiiiiiine” anymore, which used to be her catchphrase. Instead, she says, “I like it.” We’ll walk around the supermarket and all she keeps saying is, “I like it, I like it, Mummy,” more and more earnestly, as thought she’s trying to convert me to some new religion.” (Shopaholic to the Rescue, pg 81). Every interaction with Minnie was cracking me up. I think that having a child has really matured the main character and made for a whole new level to the Shopaholic saga.

Would I recommend this book? Absolutely!! I love the Shopaholic series and I think that the further into the series that we get, the better Sophie Kinsella’s writing gets. I was impressed with the diversity in her writing that I saw in “Shopaholic to the Rescue” and although I was a little angry that “Shopaholic to the Stars” was a bit of a cliffhanger rather than ending in a nice bow like the other Shopaholic books, this was an amazing second part. This latest book was probably the most well-written Becky Bloomwood book. I cannot wait to read the next book and I hope Sophie Kinsella keeps them coming.

Leave a Reply

