Becky’s Two Hundred and Twenty-Sixth Book Review: “Allegiant” by Veronica Roth

“Allegiant” by Veronica Roth is the third and final book in the Divergent series. From the beginning I have really enjoyed how strong Tris is and how her strength comes from within. She doesn’t need to be saved; she is fully capable of taking care of herself. Even in the face of uncertainty, she finds her way.

SPOILER ALERT – Do not continue reading if you have not finished Divergent and Insurgent.

At the end of “Insurgent” we learn that the community has been created as a social experiment of sorts and that the purpose of their community was to surface a large amount of Divergents, and then send them out to help the rest of the world. The second book ends with complete chaos after this information was leaked. In the third book, there is a great debate going on as to whether or not the message is authentic and what should be done. In the meantime, the factions have been dissolved as ordered by Tobais’s mother Evelyn. Tris does not appreciate what is happening. “I don’t want the factions back. / But Evelyn hasn’t liberated us like she thinks – she’s just made us all factionless. She’s afraid of what we would choose, if we were given actual freedom. And that means that no matter what I believe about the factions, I’m relieved that someone, somewhere, is defying her.” (Allegiant, pg 20). I don’t want to give too much away, and the book definitely had some interesting plot twists.

I really like Tris as a character and I think that her strength continued to shine throughout the novels, even when she was facing the kind of challenges that she would never have imagined. The moment that she chose to become Dauntless, she proved that she was brave, and daring, and willing to take risks. As the series continued, she showed everyone that she wasn’t willing to stand by and take it, she wanted to work against a corrupt system, she wanted to do what was right, no matter the consequences. I think her strength is doubly present when she is disagreeing with Tobias. Instead of letting him convince her of what he thinks is the right course of action, Tris refuses to act before using her own brain and her own sense. “I fell in love with him. But I don’t just stay with him by default as if there’s no one else available to me. I stay with him because I choose to, every day that I wake up, every day that we fight or lie to each other or disappoint each other. I choose him over and over again, and he chooses me.” (Allegiant, pg 372). I loved this quote. It perfectly captures how real love is, and I can totally relate. That is part of what is so great about Tris in the Divergent series – she is a relatable character. Even though she leaps outside of her comfort zone, she still has the same feelings that you would imagine you would have in the same situation.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, I think this was a wonderful series and although the books went in quite a different direction from what I had expected, I was constantly entertained. I would definitely be interested in other works by Veronica Roth.

Leave a Reply

