Becky’s Two Hundred and Second Book Review: “Killer Cupcakes” by Leighann Dobbs

“Killer Cupcakes” by Leighann Dobbs was a free ebook that I got through iBooks. It was a quick read, there really wasn’t much to it, and I’ll be the first to admit that I picked out the book because it has a pink cover.

The novel starts off with the main character, Lexy, learning that her hot new neighbor is a cop, which she finds out when he questions her as a possible person-of-interest in the murder of her ex-boyfriend. When she finds out her ex was murdered by her trademark cupcake tops (that had been poisoned) she decides to take matters into her own hands and try to solve the murder herself. This of course leads to her grandma wanting to help as well. “”You see,” Nans said, “we follow the case online and on TV. We can find out all the clues and solve the crime without ever leaving the complex! Of course we can leave if we need to do some field work because Ruth still drives, so we can go in her car.”
Lexy felt her mouth fall open, her mind conjuring up images of four old ladies in trench coats descending on the streets of Brook Ridge, interrogating witnesses and hunting for clues.” (Killer Cupcakes, pg 30). To me, this story held quite a few parallels with the Stephanie Plum novels. There’s a murder, a kooky grandma, amateur crime solving, a hot cop, some sexual tension between the cop and the main character, etc. There were quite a few similarities, but everything was a little rougher and not as entertaining. It really seemed like Dobbs was trying to channel Janet Evanovich, and it just didn’t work.

Would I recommend this book? No, I didn’t particularly like any of the characters, the plot didn’t move along at a pace to match the genre, and the story just kind of ended. Granted, when I go into a chic-lit novel I don’t expect to be blown away by the writing, but I do hope there will be some character development and something to hold my interest. I just felt that “Killer Cupcakes” was lacking in all of those areas. I doubt I would pick up another book by this author.

Leave a Reply

