Becky’s One Hundred and Eighty-Second Book Review: “Shopaholic to the Stars” by Sophie Kinsella

“Shopaholic to the Stars” by Sophie Kinsella is the latest in the Shopaholic series featuring the infamous Becky Brandon née Bloomwood. I was extremely excited when this book came out and couldn’t wait to start it. But I ended up putting off starting the book because I wanted to wait until I had time to devour the whole book in one sitting. After having the book in my possession for weeks I finally broke down and dove back into Becky’s world.

The premise for “Shopaholic to the Stars” involves Luke, Becky, and Minnie moving to L.A. for a few months so Luke can expand Brandon Communications to cater to celebrities. Becky takes quickly to the L.A. scene and soon finds herself shopping for exercise outfits and of course hilarity ensues when she finds herself stuck in an outfit. Instead of taking it back off, she decides to wear it home. “As soon as I get back to the hotel room, I’ll cut the whole thing off myself with a pair of nail scissors and dispose of the remains in a public bin so Luke doesn’t find them and say What’s this? or You mean you bought it even though you knew it didn’t fit? or something else really annoying.” (Shopaholic to the Stars, pg 9). I thought this was very typical Becky-behavior. Her interactions with Luke are one of the most ridiculous parts of the Shopaholic series. Becky’s imagination frequently runs away from her and she tends to get frustrated when Luke inevitably reels her back into reality. “This is typical. Luke always lets practical plans get in the way of creative inspiration.” (Shopaholic to the Stars, pg 57).

As a wife Becky is pretty ridiculous, but as a mother…she’s something else. Minnie has proven that she has a strong personality in the previous book in the series “Mini Shopaholic” and she continues to exhibit hilarious behavior. “For a long time, my daughter’s favorite word was “mine.” Now, after intensive training, we’ve got her on to the word “please.” Which you’d think would be an improvement.
I swivel around wildly and finally spot Minnie. She’s balanced on a stone bench, tussling with Suze’s son Wilfrid over a red plastic truck.
“Pleeease!” she’s yelling crossly. “Pleeease!” Now, to my horror, she starts hitting Wilfrid with the truck, yelling with each blow: “Please! Please! Please!”
The trouble is, Minnie hasn’t really absorbed the spirit of the word “please.”” (Shopaholic to the Stars, pg 78). I loved this; Minnie is such a funny character.

Becky’s interactions in L.A. are intriguing. Because of what Luke is trying to accomplish, Becky finds herself in a position where she is able to meet celebrities and attend red carpet events. Suze and Tarquin come out to the West Coast to visit with Becky and Luke and end up tagging along for some of these events. It was pretty ridiculous reading about Tarquin meeting and chatting with some of the Hollywood personalities. “Luke has been bursting into laughter a lot – especially when some studio executive asked Tarkie what was his view of the American Pie franchise and Tarkie said, gosh, he wasn’t sure – was it similar to Starbucks?” (Shopaholic to the Stars, pg 206). In “Shopaholic to the Stars” a lot was happening including Becky’s old rival Alicia Bitch Long-Legs comes back into the picture. Although there is a lot that happened, especially in the second half of the book, I don’t want to give away the whole book. I will say that one things built upon the other and it made for a very exciting second half.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, although I was disappointed with the fact that things were not wrapped up as neatly as the previous Shopaholic books have been. I always enjoy reading about the many adventures of Becky Brandon née Bloomwood and I usually find myself laughing aloud throughout the book. That wasn’t the case right away with “Shopaholic to the Stars”. There were some moments that I thought were funny, but I didn’t find myself laughing aloud the same way that I have in the past. I’m still very much looking forward to the next book in the series, especially because I cannot wait to see what happens! Sophie Kinsella has assured me that she is working on the next book, so hopefully it will be out soon.

Leave a Reply

