Becky’s One Hundred and Seventy-Eighth Book Review: “Secrets of a Shoe Addict” by Beth Harbison

“Secrets of a Shoe Addict” by Beth Harbison is a kind of sequel to “Shoe Addicts Anonymous” and quite a fun read. I really enjoyed the first book, so I was excited when I found out there was a sequel. There are a few similar concepts and one of the characters from the first book is in this one, but the three main characters are all new and instead of strangers getting together to swap shoes, this group of women are already friends that come together to solve a pretty big problem. I really liked how this was set in the same world as “Shoe Addicts Anonymous” but without focusing on the same characters. It made for an entertaining read.

Abbey Walsh, Tiffany Vanderslice Dreyer, and Loreen Murphy all find themselves needing fast money in the amount of $10,000 apiece after an adventurous school trip in Las Vegas. Loreen calls her sister in an attempt to find a job with her startup shoe company and Sandra proposes a slightly unconventional solution:
“…Sandra could picture Tiffany sitting straighter on her square of linoleum, listening for the potential answer to her problems.
And maybe Sandra had it. “There is one thing I can think of, one way to make good money fast….If you’re really serious, that is.”
“There is?” Hope was clearly rising fast. “What is it? Does it take some special skill or education or something?”
“N-no. Not really. Just a willingness to…put yourself out there.”
There was a pause. “Sandra, you’re starting to make me nervous. What is it?”
“Keep an open mind.”
“Sandra—”
“I mean it. I don’t want you throwing this back in my face later. It’s a perfectly legit way to earn money, and I even did it myself for a while.”
“Do not tell me you were a prostitute.”
Funny how quickly she’d come to that conclusion. “No!”
“Thank God.”
Sandra took a short breath then continued. “Have you ever thought about the possibility of being a phone sex operator?”” (Secrets of a Shoe Addict, pg 69-70).

Once Abbey, Tiffany, and Loreen realize that there really isn’t any other legal means of making money to pay off their huge debts, they decide to give it a try. Hilarity ensues of course as you watch these soccer moms try to keep a big secret from their families and the judgmental mothers they know. I think that Beth Harbison does a great job of developing each character and really making you care about them.

Would I recommend this book? Yes – it is a light, fun read that would certainly appeal to the women out there looking for a beach read. I personally think that there are some men whom might appreciate the equivalence of a chic flick in a book, but the book is definitely geared towards a female audience. I have a few standalone novels by Beth Harbison that I look forward to reading.

Leave a Reply

