Becky’s One Hundred and Fifty-Ninth Book Review: “Derpy Dirk and the Fight With the School Bully By the Flagpole At Lunch: A Derp Sandwich Chapter Book” by Jack Thomas

“Derpy Dirk and the Fight With the School Bully By the Flagpole At Lunch: A Derp Sandwich Chapter Book” by Jack Thomas was a free ebook offered at apple. Since I love collecting books – physical and electronic – I downloaded it with the smallest glance at the title just glad to have something to read. That was my first mistake. My second mistake was to continue reading it to the end once I realized I did not enjoy the book at all.

This is one of the worst books I have ever read. Really, I should have guessed from the book title that it was likely not going to be a winner, but I thought it might be a fun, quick read. It was quick, it wasn’t really fun, and I feel like I walked away from reading this book a little stupider. The disclaimer at the beginning of the book warning children and adults that this is not a book for children actually gave me hopes that this book would contain entertaining adult-level humor. Really, it was just a book written at an adult level, but with a severe lack of humor.

The book is about Derpy Dirk, a complete and total loser who is marked by the school bully for a fight. The whole book follows him as he worries about his imminent demise at the hands of the school bully. Meanwhile, all teachers and parents look on as if this is all in the natural order of things. His parents react to the news of his upcoming fight with the school bully as something he deserves. It was almost enough to make you feel bad for the character, except he was impossible to like.

Would I recommend this book? Absolutely not. It was a terrible read and a waste of my time. There is a lesson here though, not all free ebooks are good ebooks.

One thought on “Becky’s One Hundred and Fifty-Ninth Book Review: “Derpy Dirk and the Fight With the School Bully By the Flagpole At Lunch: A Derp Sandwich Chapter Book” by Jack Thomas

  1. Elan Mudrow says:

    Nice review, well written.
    check out:
    litrotavator.com

Leave a Reply

