Becky’s One Hundred and Fifty-Fourth Book Review: “The Catch” by Taylor Stevens

“The Catch” by Taylor Stevens is a thrilling read. Part of what I found so enjoyable about this book was the fact that the main character – a spy for hire – is a woman. It took me two pages to become enamored with the story and the main character, Munroe. “Instead, he’d come for her, which was his way of marking territory: a reminder that he was familiar with her routines and could invade them if he cared to. She allowed him to believe it, just as she allowed him to believe that he knew who she was, where she’d come from, and why she was here.” (The Catch, pg 2). I read this and knew that this was no ordinary story. I knew that Munroe was no ordinary protagonist.

Unfortunately, I only just found out while writing this review that “The Catch” is actually the fourth book in the series that follows Munroe. On the plus side, this means there are more books out there for me to read following a character I really enjoy. The downside is now I have come into the series in the middle and I hate when that happens. That being said, I still really enjoyed reading this book.

The deeper I got into the book, the more Munroe’s unique abilities made themselves known. One of her top talents is the ability to quickly pick up languages, a talent that she uses to bring a certain amount of respectability to her interactions with strangers. “Within his words of introduction Munroe heard the accent and for her own benefit answered in Italian, utilizing language, that special form of magic that increased in potency the father the spell was cast from where it was expected. The doctor’s expression shifted into a cautious smile, and in micro increments his posture relaxed with relief, almost as if he’d been holding his breath.” (The Catch pg 60)

Then there are other instances in the book where Munroe’s abilities do not outshine her own enjoyment for the life that she has chosen for herself. “Knife plunged into trachea. Yelp choked into gurgle. Blood spread over her hands, warm and sticky, sending her soul into the ecstasy of a crack addict’s high. A blow fell from the side and connected with her shoulder. Landed hard enough to drop her to one knee and she laughed with the pain.” (The Catch, pg 146). This excerpt shows just how close to the edge Munroe is. She does what she does because she is good at it and it is the life that she found herself in, but there is a part of her that enjoys it, and that is something that separates her from other protagonists. Most of the time, the hero does not relish the kill.

Time and time again in this novel, it is proven that Munroe is different from most protagonists. She has her share of flaws and her own abilities – one trait that was consistent with Munroe was her ability to be wise. This is one quote that I really enjoyed because of that. “You have your share of flaws, Nathan, but until now I never mistook you for one of those fools who use their own inability and limited experience to measure what others can or can’t do.” (The Catch, pg 283) This is a statement that made me stop reading, and think. It’s one of the many reasons I found myself enjoying Taylor Steven’s writing.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, but with my new knowledge that this book is actually the fourth in a series, I would recommend others hold off until they can start at the beginning of the series. The book was well written and deeply entertaining with a lot more action than one normally sees with a female protagonist. I look forward to getting my hands on the rest of the series.

I received this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review.

Leave a Reply

