Becky’s One Hundred and Fifty-Second Book Review: “Inferno” by Dan Brown

“Inferno” by Dan Brown was quite an interesting read. It did take a long time to read, but that was mostly due to the fact that I was reading it aloud with Future Husband on long drives. We had several hours in the car the other day however, and were able to finish it once and for all.

I do like Dan Brown’s work, I think that it is fun and quick to get through while at the same time, it makes you think. “Inferno” is a novel that once again follows Robert Langdon and the crazy stuff he gets mixed up in. This time he has been brought to Florence to help stop a monumental disaster. The only problem is, he wakes up with no memory of how he got where he is, whom he can trust, and what the reason is that he has been brought to Italy. He only knows the clues on his own body and has to trust in the doctor who helps him to escape the hospital in a flurry of gunfire. The clues he finds quickly send him down a path where using his knowledge of Dante’s Divine Comedy, he is able to get closer to the truth.

The novel is full of twists and turns and just when you believe you are figuring out what has happened all the truths you know change. It was an exciting read, despite the fact that I read it over the span of several months.

Would I recommend this novel? Yes, to someone looking for a fun, quick read full of twist and turns. I wouldn’t recommend it to someone who doesn’t have a lot of free time. If I had been reading it myself, I would not have put it down until I had devoured it all. It is quite an interesting read full of historical facts tied up with Dan Brown’s own fiction. The only thing I didn’t love about the book was the fact that there was a substantial amount of Italian in there. I don’t speak Italian, so reading it aloud was that much more of a challenge. Either way though, it was a good book.

Leave a Reply

