Becky’s One Hundred and Fiftieth Book Review: “A Walk in the Park” by Jane Green

Short stories are not my favorite. I love to get lost in a story and I just find that hard to do with a short story. When you get into it, then it is over. It’s almost not worth reading them at all. That being said, I really enjoyed “A Walk in the Park” by Jane Green.

The main character, Olivia, is out in the country after having lost her job and catching her ‘boyfriend’ cheating on her with her best friend. She retreats to her parents’ summerhouse to lick her wounds. The story opens up on her feeling sorry for herself while out walking with her mom’s tiny dog, Pippin. A devil dog owned by a handsome stranger’s grandmother attacks her dog. The stranger is quick to apologize and make amends. When he inspects Pippin’s injuries he reveals a fair amount of blood, which causes Olivia to faint. When she comes to she finally gets to meet the handsome guy. “He extends a hand, which I just look at for a second, before remembering this is how you introduce yourself outside of Williamsburg, where you just raise a hand with a ‘hey’.” (A Walk in the Park, 39). I think this is a great example of the comedic touch that Jane Green puts into her writing.

Once Olivia has been introduced to William, they get talking and realize they have a spark. He asks her out to dinner and she promises to pick him up since his car isn’t working. When she comes to pick him up, that is when the story gets really interesting. I don’t want to give the whole thing away, but it took a crazy turn.

Would I recommend this story? Yes, I found it to be a lot of fun. I probably would not have gotten a copy on my own; it was available from Book Shout for free. I wouldn’t recommend dropping a ton of money on it though. It was over in a few very short pages. The story was a lot of fun and took an interesting twist, which I always appreciate. It is definitely more of a chic-lit story, so it might not appeal to all audiences, but it was a fun read never the less.

Side note: I just checked and the short story is still available from Book Shout for free. It is also available from Amazon.com as an ebook for free. I do not know if this is an always price or not.

Leave a Reply

