Becky’s One Hundred and Nineteenth Book Review: “The Casual Vacancy” by J.K. Rowling

There was a lot of anticipation for the release of J.K. Rowling’s first novel geared directly towards adults, “The Casual Vacancy”. I am fairly certain that no one enjoyed it. I very rarely will put down a book without finishing it. I push myself to read books. Sometimes I will take a break, but a book has to be utterly terrible for me to not finish reading it. That is exactly what I got when I tried to read “The Casual Vacancy”.

I think I read about 220 pages from “The Casual Vacancy” before I decided I couldn’t take it anymore (this was over months of reading when normally I can finish a 500 page book in two weeks). The bones of the plot are focused around a ‘casual vacancy’ – basically a guy dies. The community goes nuts, people want to replace him, time is spent learning a bit about younger characters. Honestly, I couldn’t even keep my mind focused on the pages. It seemed like in an attempt to get away from the Harry Potter books, Rowling attempted to write an adult novel by inserting a lot of crude language and sexual topics. Thanks, but we don’t need to hear about a boy’s sexual thoughts about the girl getting on the bus.

I know this is a very short review, but this book barely deserves a review anyway. It was terrible. I do not recommend “The Casual Vacancy” in any shape or form. The publisher should give people their money back – the book was that bad.

Leave a Reply

