Becky’s Seventy-Fourth Book Review: “Book of the Dead” by Patricia Cornwell

You know how they say never judge a book by its cover? Well I do it all the time, especially when I am out shopping for gifts for my parents. I look around for a book that I know they wouldn’t have picked up on their own because they tend to stick with authors that they know. So a few years ago I was shopping for my Dad’s birthday and I saw a book called “Book of the Dead” which I thought sounded interesting. I got it for him along with some others and told him when he was done to lend it to me. I’ve been slowly working my way though the pile of books that I borrowed from Mom and Dad and finally picked up Patricia Cornwell’s book this week. 

It was interesting…and there were definitely times that I wanted to know what would happen next. The book was full of all sorts of my favorite things, murder, mystery, and a touch of romance. I worked my way through this book desperate to know what would happen next. Some of the characters I found to be interesting, but a lot of them I couldn’t really stand. Just when I began to get bored with the book things picked up. But then the book ended and it was abrupt and not well done at all. I was left wondering what everything meant. I mean, with a murder mystery you want to know how it all comes together at the end. But apparently that was not to be. The book wound together poorly to say the least.

Would I recommend this book. No. I felt like it was a real waste of time. Barely worth a review in the first place. 

Leave a Reply

