Becky’s Sixty-Fifth Book Review: “Safe Haven” by Nicolas Sparks

I went to see Les Miserables with my Mom on New Years Day. We get into the theater just a few minutes before the movie starts and started enjoying the previews. There were many movies advertised that I thought ‘I’m definitely going to have to see that’. One of the previews was for a movie called “Safe Haven” which is based off of a Nicolas Sparks novel. Instead of thinking ‘I’m going to have to see that’ I thought ‘I really want to read that book!’ and so I did.

“Safe Haven” by Nicolas Sparks was a very well written book which I began on Saturday morning and finished Saturday afternoon. The story is based in the small town of Southport, NC. The main character, Katie has just moved to the quiet town and keeps pretty much to herself. She waitresses at one of the local joins and does almost all of her shopping at a little store that is pretty close to her home. She doesn’t have a car, so she walks everywhere and her little cabin is only furnished with items that came with the house. The store that she often shops at is owned by Alex. He bought the business from his father-in-law and the widower runs the store with his daughter behind the counter and his son fishing outside.

Alex and Katie get to know each other very slowly. Katie is very shy about meeting people in town and reluctantly becomes friends with her neighbor, Jo. We know that there is a reason that Katie has moved to Southport but it is unclear what she is running from. Katie’s story of why she ran is slowly unveiled. At the same time Alex and Katie are falling in love—a prospect that is frightening for both of them since the last woman that Alex loved was his wife who died and the last man that Katie loved was the reason that she came to Southport to begin with. I don’t want to give too much away because really part of the fun of reading a book is that it is a mystery that you reveal with the turn of each page.

Would I recommend this book? Definitely, but only to certain people. I believe that my Mom would really enjoy this book, but it isn’t something that I would pass along to my little brother. It is a novel by Nicholas Sparks which should tell you something, he writes almost exclusively chick-flick books. “The Notebook” and “A Walk to Remember” were both made into movies along with now “Safe Haven”. I felt that “Safe Haven” by Nicolas Sparks was a very good read. It was especially nice because the book was easier to digest than some of the things that I have been reading lately.

Leave a Reply

