Becky’s Sixty-First Book Review: “Notorious Nineteen” by Janet Evanovich

Sometimes I like to read serious books that can be defined as true literature and other times I like to read fluff. It is nice to just let your brain relax every once and awhile and one of my favorite authors tends to write just that. I recently finished reading “Notorious Nineteen” by Janet Evanovich which is a Stephanie Plum novel. These books are always good for a laugh and most of the time Evanovich has me guessing how the story will end all the way up to the big reveal. I do feel like writing a review for a book in a series is a difficult thing because you don’t want to give anything away, so I am sorry that this review will be on the short side.

“Notorious Nineteen” stars the same Stephanie Plum, bond enforcement agent. She has her trusty plus-sized former hooker sidekick, Lula constantly keeping things entertaining. There are also the two constant sex symbols in the forms of Ranger and Morelli—both men want to take care of her and look at her like she is dessert. In this book Stephanie is trying to solve a mystery of disappearing patients who happen to be FTA. At the same time, Ranger is receiving threats and hires Stephanie to help work security in a wedding which leads to lots of sexual tension and puffy pink dresses.

I am a big fan of the Stephanie Plum novels and I think that they appeal to a fairly wide audience. I know that both of my parents enjoy reading about Stephanie’s adventures and my mom even went out and bought Bulgari shower gel. The book was a quick read, but it was fun and my hope is that Janet Evanovich will continue the Stephanie Plum novels for a long time.  

Leave a Reply

