Becky’s Fifty-Ninth Book Review: “Mr. Maybe” by Jane Green

I just finished reading “Mr. Maybe” by Jane Green. I hadn’t read anything by Jane Green in the past, but I am a big fan of chic-lit so I thought I would give her a try. I actually got this book for Christmas last year and am surprised that it took me so long to read it. “Mr. Maybe” was a pretty entertaining book, although it was rather predictable. The main character, Libby has some very funny dialogue that by itself makes the book worth a read.
The book actually started off pretty slow and I considered putting it down to find something else. I’m glad that I didn’t because it was an enjoyable read. Libby is a pretty likeable character most of the time, albeit on the shallow side. Once I got a bit into the book, I was loving Jane Green’s comedic touch. One of the funniest lines in my opinion was, “…and at the grand old age of twenty-seven I’ve realized that the best contraception of all is hairy legs…”. I loved this quote.
As for what the book was about, it was your typical chic-lit plot line. Silly single girl looking for Mr. Right and eventually learns some moral lesson and learns exactly who she is and almost always, she does find that guy. It was a pretty formulated plot, but like I said the book was enjoyable.
Would I recommend this book? To some, yes. I believe that if you’re looking for a ‘beach read’ Jane Green’s Mr. Maybe would be a good pick. But if you’re looking for something more substantial I would recommend picking something else.

Leave a Reply

