Becky’s Fifty-Fourth Book Review: “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn

Yesterday I finally finished reading “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn. Thank God it is over. I have to say, I did not enjoy reading this awful story about a couple that gets married and ends up hating each other. Maybe it is because I am happy in my own relationship. Either way, I would much rather read about a serial killer (Dexter) than about a horrible relationship.
“Gone Girl” is told from two characters’ perspectives-Amy and Nick. The premise of the story is that on Amy and Nick’s fifth wedding anniversary, Amy goes missing. There are signs of a struggle in the house. Nick has no idea what has happened. As the story progresses, the reader discovers more about Nick and Amy’s relationship and (in my case) end up hating both characters.  

I am rather curious as to why this book became such a hit. I know that it is being made into a movie and this book actually led to me purchasing Gillian Flynn’s other novels. I decided to read them in the order published and I’m really glad that I did. Her first two novels were a great read. They were dark and twisty, but unique and interesting. This novel just left me feeling rather sick.

I do need to give Gillian Flynn props for technique. She is a very talented writer. I think that her understanding of the relationship between a husband and a wife, even an unhappy couple is very in-depth and the extreme details that she is able to give her characters shows how dedicated that she is.

I would not recommend this book to most people. I think that it is more disturbing than anything else and most people that I know wouldn’t enjoy it. That being said, I would read another novel by Gillian Flynn because I think she is very talented. I just didn’t like the taste this novel left in my mouth.

Leave a Reply

