Becky’s Fifty-First Book Review: “Rebecca” by Daphne du Maurier

I love to re-read certain books. I have several favorites that I find myself picking up off the shelf time after time. It doesn’t matter how many books are in my ‘to read’ pile. When I get a craving to read a certain book, I have to do just that. Some of the books that I like to read over and over again include: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith; Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte; Harry Potter 1-7 by J. K. Rowling; Remember Me, Twenties Girl, The Undomestic Goddess, & The Shopoholic Series by Sophie Kinsella. The book that I just finished is also on that list, Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier.

The first time that I read Rebecca I had picked it up at the library because I wanted to read the book about me, my full name being Rebecca and all. I was a little disappointed that the character Rebecca wasn’t a reflection of my personality.

The next time that I picked up the book was for a summer reading assignment in high school. This was several years after the first time and I saw a lot of things in the book that I hadn’t seen before. I also discussed the book in class, so it was analyzed a lot.

Let’s get to reviewing the book, shall we? Rebecca is a gothic novel that is very well written. There were a lot of things that I noticed this time around that I found interesting. I found the novel to have many more levels this time around. Rebecca is the late wife of Max de Winter. This novel is narrated by Max de Winter’s new bride. She is a very insecure individual who is convinced that Max has not gotten over his wife’s death. Her insecurity reminded me a lot of, well…me. It is a little sad how well I was able to connect with her. This woman is telling the story from both the present (after the story) and the past which is where we learn all about the relationship between the narrator, Max de Winter and his late wife, Rebecca. I have to admit, even though I have read the book several times, I had forgotten the ending, at least part of it. I don’t want to give too much away because I believe Rebecca is a fantastic read.

Would I recommend this book? Most definitely, Daphne du Maurier is an excellent writer and the novel Rebecca reflects her best work. I think that it is a great rainy day read, it is a little too heavy to be a beach read. But the book is worth reading at least once, although I cannot help myself from reading it again and again.     

Leave a Reply

