Becky’s Fiftieth Book Review: “The Doll: The Lost Short Stories” by Daphne du Maurier

It has taken me longer than usual to write this review. I finished reading “The Doll: The Lost Short Stories” by Daphne du Maurier. While I am a big fan of Daphne du Maurier, short stories tend to frustrate me. As soon as I would get into a story, it ended. Now what I found truly interesting about the collection of short stories was how bits and pieces from each of the stories found their way into Daphne du Maurier’s most famous piece, “Rebecca”. I probably would not have noticed all of the similarities if it wasn’t for the fact that I picked up “Rebecca” to read once I finished with “The Doll”.

The first short story “East Wind” takes place at an island. It involves a lot of beach and rocks as the background for the story which is similar to parts of Manderly in “Rebecca”. There is jealousy in “East Wind” and the story definitely had a gothic taste to it that du Maurier is so well known for.

The second short story is called “The Doll” where one of the main characters is named Rebecca. The way that she is described is very similar to the Rebecca featured in the novel under the same title.

All of the short stories featured in “The Doll” in one way or another reminded me of “Rebecca”. One of the short stories “The Happy Valley” is actually a place in Manderly in the novel “Rebecca”. I thought that was interesting.

I don’t want to break down each story individually, but I did think that this collection of short stories was worth a read. It was fun to see the different ideas that du Maurier put together. Besides the stories mentioned above, the rest of the titles are below.

“And Now to God the Father”
“A Difference of Temperament”

“Frustration”

“Piccadilly”

“Tame Cat”

“Mazie”

“Nothing Hurts for Long”

“Week-End”

“The Happy Valley”

“And His Letters Grew Colder”

“The Limpet”

The book was worth a read and I believe that many people would enjoy it. As I stated before, I am not a big fan of short stories. I would have liked to see more in the stories that she told and would have been quite content to read entire novels.

 

 

Leave a Reply

