Becky’s Forty-Eighth Book Review: “A Dance with Dragons” by George R. R. Martin

I look around the room and see stacks of books that I brought down from my library, all books that I have yet to read but really want to. I also have a fairly sizeable stack of books that I am borrowing from my parents which I need to read. Then there are the rest of the books that are in my library calling to me to read them. I just finished reading “A Dance with Dragons” by George R. R. Martin and I’m still so emotionally involved with it that I cannot fathom starting another book.

“A Dance with Dragons” is the fifth book in the Game of Thrones series. If you have read the series, then you are aware that the story is told by not one or two main characters, but a whole slew of them. As the story progressed, more and more characters became involved in telling their own stories and Martin found himself needing to break up his novels. This happened in the fourth book. Only half of the characters tell their stories, and so the fifth book “A Dance with Dragons” is actually part of the fourth book as well. I was a little frustrated at this because I had to keep going back to the third book to see what had happened since that is where the fifth book picks up for many of the characters. Eventually we hear more from the same characters who were featured in the fourth book (roughly half-way through the book).

Now with this series, I have become attached to several characters and have probably three favorites. In this book, one of my favorite characters is taken out of the picture. I don’t want to say any more because I don’t want to spoil it for those who have yet to read the series. But I partly blame this character’s death on my inability to pick up another book. I just want to know what is going to happen next and the problem is that the next book in the series has yet to be published. What’s a girl to do?

I have been very much so enjoying this series and I would recommend it to most people. Really the only down side is that Martin’s writing technique of having so many different characters tell the story can be a bit confusing at times. It isn’t a book that you can half pay attention to. A Game of Thrones commands attention and is a very worthwhile read. I cannot wait for the rest of the series to be released.

3 thoughts on “Becky’s Forty-Eighth Book Review: “A Dance with Dragons” by George R. R. Martin

  1. Kat Richter says:

    Hmm… I gave Game of Thrones a try a few weeks ago and just couldn’t get into the language. But I LOVE the show, and now I’m stuck waiting until next spring for Season 3 unless I read the books 😦

    • becky119 says:

      The language can be a little difficult at first, but I really think you should give it another try. Especially since you’ve seen the show, you have a better idea what some of the things in the series are. My older brother directed me to this website that has chapter summaries for the whole series and also character descriptions. It has been so helpful because sometimes so much happens in the book that it can be hard to keep track of. Try again and if you need the help go to: http://awoiaf.westeros.org/index.php/Chapters

  2. John Bentrim says:

    I’m on the third book and l’m loving it.

Leave a Reply

