Becky’s Forty-Sixth Book Review: “The Mockingjay (The FInal Book in the Hunger Games Series)

SPOILER ALERT: DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE FIRST TWO BOOKS IN THE HUNGER GAMES SERIES AND ARE PLANNING ON IT!

Last night I finished “The Hunger Games” series. I then proceeded to sob in Adam’s lap for a good fifteen minutes. He thinks that I get too emotionally involved with my characters. I think that he is probably right. The third book in the series “The Mockingjay (The Final Book of The Hunger Games)” was an emotional roller-coaster, at least for me.

The third book involves the Capitol and the Districts in a full out war. Katniss and her family are adjusting to life in District 13. Those leading the revolution are working on convincing Katniss that she has to be ‘The Mockingjay’—the face of the revolution. Katniss doesn’t particularly want to step into this role and is more so spending all of her time worrying about Peeta and wondering what exactly the Capitol has been doing to him.

There are some crazy twists and turns that I was completely shocked by. There is also a fair amount of battle scenes and more people are killed, just as in the first two books. The only difference being that I became very attached to some of these characters. There was one loss in particular that really got to me, but I don’t want to give away everything that happens in the book. Let’s just say, you would more than likely know it when you read it.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, Suzanne Collins did an excellent job writing this series and she deserves all of the attention that the book has brought to her. I hope that she is planning on continuing her writing career because I would love to read some more of her work. The book was without a doubt upsetting, but what book of war wouldn’t be? Amazing series, I finally understand what all the hype was about.

One thought on “Becky’s Forty-Sixth Book Review: “The Mockingjay (The FInal Book in the Hunger Games Series)

  1. Alex says:

    Lame. I felt she neglected far too much of the other going on’s of the book, focusing too closley to Katniss’s struggle rather than the overall war. She could have done both.

Leave a Reply

