Becky’s Forty-Fourth Book Review: “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins

Yesterday I started reading “The Hunger Games”. I did this partly because I had heard from multiple sources that the books were really good and so I wanted to read it for myself. I also started reading with the intention of getting my boyfriend off of my back. While he didn’t want to read the books himself, Adam wanted to watch the movie and knew that I would refuse to watch it until after I read the book. I now understand why the series is so popular. Collins has a way of captivating the audience with her writing.

 

I think there were several factors that contributed to why the series is so popular. First of all, Collins makes the main character very likeable. You can’t help but cheer for this girl who has risen to the task of caring for her family ever since her father died and her mother fell into a deep depression. The hunger games require two players from each of the twelve districts, one boy and one girl. Katniss is worried about how many times her name has been entered and when the girl name is called, it isn’t Katniss, but rather her younger sister Primrose. This is a crucial point in the story where Suzanne Collins makes the audience feel for Katniss. Instead of letting her sister go off to the games where a sure death lies in wait, Katniss volunteers to take her place.

 

The book just gets better and better. You feel sympathy for Katniss and you are cheering for her to win. At the same time, the boy who was called, Peeta is another character who is easy to like and you feel frustrated that only one can win. Of course, there are some changes made in the rules, but I don’t want to give too much away in case you want to read this book.

 

I’ve recently been reading Stephen King’s “On Writing” and from his descriptions, I have come to see more things in books that I haven’t noticed or appreciated before. A lot of the things that King tries to instruct upon is not over writing, but having enough description to allow the reader to finish the image in their own mind. I feel like Suzanne Collins kept a wonderful balance in “The Hunger Games”. The second that I finished the first book I started the second one and am already devouring it.

 

Would I recommend this book? Yes! I cannot think of anyone who wouldn’t like the series. There are so many emotions that Collins touches on throughout the novel that would appeal to so many different readers. I’m looking forward to watching the movie. Just might write a review on that as well!

Leave a Reply

