Becky’s Thirty-Fourth Book Review: “Full House” by Janet Evanovich and Charlotte Hughes

I just finished reading “Full House” which was written by Janet Evanovich and Charlotte Hughes. This book was originally published in 1989 under the name “Steffie Hall”. Once the Stephanie Plum series became so popular, this book was re-released. It is the first book in a series.

After consuming every Stephanie Plum novel that Janet Evanovich has written, I started to look to her other works. I am a big fan of buying “lots” of books off of ebay, and that is how I got some of the books from this series, but I knew that I didn’t have the first one. Luckily, when my birthday rolled around, my parents got me the missing books and now I started the series.

The series is about a woman named Billie Pearce who is a divorced mother of two. She teaches the sixth grade and during the summer, her children go off to visit their father and go to Disneyworld. While the kids are on this trip, Billie decides that she wants to do something for herself, so she takes up polo lessons. This is where the ‘meet cute’ occurs. Billie meets Nick Kaharchek, one of the most eligible bachelors in the area and a known womanizer. Billie is no polo player and Nick, as her instructor realizes this. He is talking with her after the polo lesson about how she should take some riding lessons before she tries polo again and the horse accidentally steps on her foot. Nick feels obligated to bring Billie to the hospital. After she is treated for her foot, Nick brings Billie home and gets her to take some pain pills for her foot. While Billie is pretty out of it, Nick asks if his cousin Deedee can stay at Billie’s home. He does this partly because his cousin is driving him crazy and partly because her younger brother who likes to blow up things is missing and keeps living Nick ‘presents’. This all happens in the first two chapters, and from there Billie’s life is turned upside down. Between having Deedee in her home and Nick inadvertently in her life Billie finds every bit of normalcy that her life had disappeared. 

I don’t want to give much more away, because then I might as well write a summary of the entire book and that is no fun! I found there were some things in the book that reflected how long ago it had been published. For one, Evanovich’s writing was not nearly as good as it has become with her spitting out numerous Stephanie Plum novels. I thought that this book was just going to be a silly romance story, but it evolved and by the end I couldn’t put it down. I am eager to start the next book and see if Evanovich’s writing improves as the series goes along. I am a little unclear as to the timeline for when the rest of the series was released in comparison with the Stephanie Plum novels.

Would I recommend this book? Yes, it was a lot of fun and I have a feeling that the series is going to just get better and better with each book. I think anyone who enjoys the Stephanie Plum novels would enjoy this taste of Evanovich in a different world.

Leave a Reply

