Becky’s Thirty-First Book Review: “Agnes Grey” by Anne Brontë

I have this thing that I do…I find something that I enjoy and I repeat it over and over. For example sometimes I will eat ceaser salads until I’m sick of them. I’ll watch the same television show over and over…listen to the same music. And I do this with books as well. At the moment, I’m on a classics kick. I read “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen and got addicted.

Yesterday I started “Agnes Grey” by Anne Brontë. Today I finished it. Granted, it was a short novel but it was very well written and definitely difficult to put down. Anne Brontë is Charlotte Brontë’s youngest sister. There are some very noticeable similarities between Charlotte and Anne’s writing style. One of their other sisters was Emily Brontë who wrote “Wuthering Heights”. This was actually published at the same time as “Agnes Grey” was. Just to give a little background.

“Agnes Grey” follows a woman who decides that she wants to help bring in an income to her family by becoming a governess. The heroine of the tale, Agnes Grey then encounters many different challenges which are said to reflect those that Anne Brontë experienced herself in the short time that she was employed as a governess. Agnes struggles with taming children that are rotten and spoiled and in some cases just plain sadistic. She is also forced to deal with the loneliness that comes along with leaving the comforts of one’s home and venturing out into the real world. The way that Agnes Grey tells her tale is very entertaining. She does actually speak to the reader which is a technique that I enjoy. It creates a much more familiar air between the author and the audience. I don’t want to get too much into the story since it is so short and I would rather not give anything away.

If you like classics, I highly recommend reading “Agnes Grey”. Really, I would recommend reading anything written by any of the Brontë sisters. They were a very talented family.  

Leave a Reply

