Becky’s Thirtieth Book Review: “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen

Book Review for “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen

I am amazed that it took me this long to read such a classic as “Pride and Prejudice”. I’ve actually owned the book for years, I am pretty sure that I bought it when I was around fifteen years old, so roughly ten years ago. When I first bought it, I knew that it was a classic and I tried to read it but I don’t think I was patient enough with the book. I know that I read a few pages and I gave up on it. It then was filed away with the other Austen books that I own in my library and forgotten about. I have been so busy reading modern books that I haven’t thought about all of the wonderful classics that I own. So when it came time for Adam and me to take a mini-vacation I decided to look around my library for something to bring with. Several books were grabbed and my kindle was fully charged as well. Vacation here I come.

“Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen is divided up into three volumes. The heroine of the story is Elizabeth Bennet. Elizabeth has several sisters, but no brothers and this is one of the biggest reasons that Mrs. Bennet tries so hard to marry off her daughters. Once Mr. Bennet dies his estate will be left to the closest male relative, a cousin by the name of Mr. Collins. Mrs. Bennet is very silly and always seems to be embarrassing Elizabeth and Mr. Bennet. Elizabeth is Mrs. Bennet’s least favorite daughter because she is so headstrong. It probably does not help that Mr. Bennet favors Elizabeth above all her other sisters. Jane is the oldest daughter and Mrs. Bennet, upon hearing that a new neighbor is going to be moving in sets out determined that Mr. Bennet should call upon their new neighbor Mr. Bingly so that he is more likely to choose one of their daughters to marry. This sets in motion all of the daughters attending a ball with Mr. Bingly and a new character is introduced, Mr. Darcy.

Anyone who knows the basic premises for “Pride and Prejudice” knows that Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth drive each other crazy. Elizabeth sees Mr. Darcy as a proud, arrogant man who wants nothing to do with anyone below his station. Mr. Darcy recognizes that Elizabeth is beautiful, but believes that she is too far below his level in society to deal with. Elizabeth overhears this first observation about her and immediately forms a prejudice against him assuming that anyone who is that proud would not be worth knowing anyway. The two run into each other in different situations and while Elizabeth continues in her same mindset, Mr. Darcy finds himself becoming more and more interested in this woman whom he so quickly cast aside as not good enough for him. I don’t want to give too much away about all the different situations that they find themselves in and the different events that end up taking place. It really is worth reading the book.

Would I recommend this novel? Absolutely! I do think that anyone who goes to read this novel should be at an age where they can appreciate it better. I know that I tried to read it too early myself and ended up missing out because I couldn’t give the novel enough time. Austen really has a way with words and upon finishing “Pride and Prejudice” I was left wanting to emerge myself in the same kind of situation. I was just disappointed that I didn’t bring more of Austen’s works with me on vacation. My second favorite book is “Jane Eyre” by Charlotte Brontë and I wanted nothing more that to reread this novel once I finished reading “Pride and Prejudice”. Unfortunately I did not have a copy with me so I had to settle for one of the books that I did bring with me. I have just started reading “Agnes Grey” by Anne Brontë, so I shall soon write a review on it. I am only a few pages in, but already I am enjoying it very much. 

Leave a Reply

