Becky’s Twenty-Ninth Book Review: “Fifty Shades of Grey” “Fifty Shades Darker” and “Fifty Shades Freed” by E.L. James

I just finished reading the “Fifty Shades of Grey” series and I’m almost sad that it is over. This series was very captivating, especially considering it was written by a rookie author! I didn’t really know much about what the series was about before I started it, so it was a bit of a surprise. I read it on my kindle after reading the first few preview pages on amazon.com. I usually don’t test a book before buying it, I just dive right it…but the first few pages of “Fifty Shades of Grey” spiked my curiosity and once I started the series I couldn’t stop.

 

“Fifty Shades of Grey” is focused around two main characters, Anastasia Steel and Christian Grey. The two meet when Ana does a favor for her roommate, Kate. She had arranged an interview with Christian Grey for her school newspaper and gotten the flu. Ana, being the good friend that she is went on the interview for Kate and unknowingly changed her life. Ana literally falls into Christian’s office for the interview–demonstrating how clumsy she can be while Christian is smooth smooth smooth. There are many instances throughout the novel where these characteristics are amplified which I really enjoyed. Ana is portrayed as an average person, college student about to graduate…working a part-time job…she’s an avid reader which made me feel like I could connect to her. Then on the other hand is Christian, a young, handsom, rich, successful business man who oozes control to hide his haunted past. Another thing that E.L. James does in her novels which I enjoyed is she makes things rather realistic. I don’t want to go into too many details, but when she writes about Ana and Christian’s world it feels very real and truthful. The book is very captivating and ends in a way that made me pick up the next book immediately.

“Fifty Shades Darker” explores further into Ana and Christian’s lives. He reveals more about his past. I don’t want to say too much more because it would be giving things away. But this book was just as good, if not better than the first one and I finished it quickly.

“Fifty Shades Freed” takes a different turn where the disruptions in Ana and Christian’s lives are more external than internal. A lot of really intense stuff happens, but again, I don’t want to give anything away. E.L. James wraps up the series nicely and she doesn’t leave her audience wanting which is great. I hope to see more work from her soon.

Would I recommend this series? Most definitely! The only warning I would give is there are some ‘smutty’ parts to the books, so they would not be suitable to everyone.

Leave a Reply

