Becky’s Twenty-Seventh Book Review: “A Feast for Crows” by George R. R. Martin

SPOILER ALERT: DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE FIRST THREE BOOKS IN THIS SERIES AND ARE PLANNING ON IT!

It amazes me how complex and unique a world that George R.R. Martin was able to create with the Game of Thrones series. I just finished the fourth book and am using an extreme amount of willpower to not buy the next book in the series. The paperback copy will be released on August 28th and I want my books to match. I’m super cool like that. What is infuriating about waiting for the next book is what is not told to the reader until the very end of the fourth book. The fifth book is actually part two of the fourth book. Since he has so many characters telling their stories (a technique that I love and hate) he kept writing and writing until he had too much to fit into one book. So he took half the characters and told their whole stories and the other half we have to wait for the fifth book to hear about! I love to read and I have plenty of books to keep me occupied, but I hate being stuck in a series because I have to wait for it to come out. It was suggested to me to order the kindle version for now and then get the paperback when it comes out, but the problem with that is this series is so complicated that half of the time I find myself going back through the series and rereading bits to fully grasp what is happening.

The conclusion of the third book revealed a lot of information that left the audience asking many questions. Luckily, many of these questions are answered in the fourth book. I am hoping that the fifth book will answer the rest of my questions. We do see a certain character reappear in the fourth book that was killed off in the third book and it is very interesting to see how Martin creates this world of fantasy to cater to things like that. Just because a character has died does not necessarily mean the end of that character.

Again, I recommend to anyone who has not read the series to pick it up because it is an amazing read. It can be difficult to follow sometimes, but overall is worth it in the end. Martin has a true talent for creating a new world with the Game of Thrones series.

Leave a Reply

