Becky’s Twenty-Fourth Book Review: “A Game of Thrones” by George R.R. Martin

I cannot believe that it took me this long to start reading this series. It really sucked me in. I love when books do that–Martin has a way of emerging his audience into the world that he has created. In the book when he is describing “The Wall” his use of language to describe how cold it was made me feel cold. His writing is that good.

In the book Martin goes between characters so that the story is told from so many different perspectives. I really like when authors do this. In some cases it can be a bit frustrating because I want to know what happens next to a character and I’ll have to wait. But it is always worth it. I found myself torn between the characters, once you see everything through a different person’s eyes you can sympathize more with things that the characters do. For example, there are a couple of families in the book including the Starks. There are several children, including one bastard–Jon Snow and during the stories that they each tell you feel for each character. It is hard to pick a favorite character, but I am a big fan of Jon Snow and also of Arya Stark. She is what I imagine I would be like born in a different age. I don’t want to give too much away…but Martin does have a way of shocking his audience and some of the characters that he has developed are just plain evil.

I strongly recommend this book. I’m sure that the whole series is excellent, but I’ve only just started the second book so I’ll have to let you know.

I have not seen the television series, nor do I plan on watching it until after I’ve finished reading the books. From what I hear though, the television series is also excellent.

Leave a Reply

