Becky’s Seventh Movie Review: “The Muppets”

The music from the Muppets Movie is still circling my head and I felt that I had to write a review of this movie. When I heard that there was going to be a new Muppets movie I barely paid attention. I really was not expecting to enjoy the movie and went back and forth on the idea of even watching it. But when Adam suggested it tonight I figured, why not? And I’m really glad that we did watch it.

I almost feel like I’m five years old again, sitting in front of the TV with my brothers, singing along. (I have no doubt that I used to). The music in the movie was fun, made me want to dance, and at the same time I wished I knew the words so that I could sing along. There were many classics including one of my personal favorites, “The Rainbow Connection”. When this song was being sung by all the Muppets I almost did burst into song in my living room. The Muppet movie also featured several modern songs done in their own style. I really liked this, especially because there were certain songs that I know kids would not recognize, but were probably included in the movie because the age group that would have listened to the songs were watching the Muppets when they were kids. The barbershop quartet did a version of Nirvana’s “Smells Like Team Spirit” and the chickens did a version of Ceelo Green’s “Forget You” (or Fuck You, depending upon which version of the song you listened to). In addition to the music in the movie, there were cameos of various actors/actresses including Neal Patrick Harris, Whoppi Goldberg, Zach Galifianakis, Jack Black, and David Grohl to name a few.

I would highly recommend this movie to people of all ages. It is a great family movie, but that doesn’t mean that young kids need to be present for you to justify watching it. It made me feel like a little kid again and I hope the same goes for you.

Fun movie that makes me feel like a kid again! Four out of five stars.

One thought on “Becky’s Seventh Movie Review: “The Muppets”

  1. Alyssa says:

    The Muppets was such a fun movie.

    Check out my review! 🙂

Leave a Reply

