Becky’s Nineteenth Book Review: “Wicked Appetite” by Janet Evanovich

SPOILER ALERT: IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THE “BETWEEN-THE-NUMBERS” BOOKS AND ARE PLANNING ON IT, DON’T READ THIS (PLUM LOVIN’, PLUM LUCKY, PLUM SPOOKY, VISIONS OF SUGAR PLUMS)

I’ve got to admit, when I first heard that Janet Evanovich was doing a spin-off series based off of a character in a few of the Stephanie Plum novels I wasn’t thrilled. While I enjoyed reading the “between-the-numbers” books, I really didn’t think I would like a series by her that didn’t have Ranger or Morelli. The character that the new spin-off series is centered around is Diesel. I just wanted more Stephanie Plum novels and so I’ve put off reading “Wicked Appetite” even though I’ve had the kindle version for a few months. I was pleasantly surprised.

Janet Evanovich has a great balance in her novels between comedy, anticipation, action, and lust. “Wicked Appetite” was no exception. The novel was shorter than I would have liked, I actually started it around 11am and finished a few minutes ago (it’s now 2:30pm). But it was a very enjoyable read. There were some really funny moments where I had to stifle my laughter so the people around me didn’t think that I was crazy. (It can’t make a good impression to start laughing at my desk for no apparent reason.)

Evanovich has a knack for getting her audience very involved with the characters in her book. The main character is named Lizzy and she makes amazing cupcakes. Following her in Evanovich’s novel was so much fun. She has entertaining friends, some very interesting encounters and crazy adventures with Diesel. We know that Diesel is an unmentionable from the earlier between-the-numbers series and he comes into Lizzy’s life and turns it upside down. I think that Diesel is really starting to grow on me and I liked that there was a new character introduced in this novel–“Cat 7143”. Quite entertaining.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is a Evanovich fan. And I think that there is potential for a wide range of people to enjoy this book. There is no question–it is a chick-lit book, but that doesn’t mean that boys cannot enjoy it too!

Leave a Reply

