Becky’s Sixth Movie Review: “Contraband”

Adam and I watched Contraband last night and I gotta say, one of the best movies that I’ve seen in awhile. Mark Wahlberg is a great actor and I think he played the part well. Other big names in this movie are Kate Beckinsale, Ben Foster, and Giovanni Ribisi.

The basic premise of the movie is that the main character Chris (Wahlberg) is a retired smuggler who has to get back in the life in order to save his brother-in-law. Andy (the brother-in-law) screwed up smuggling drugs and Chris has to pay the dealer back or he is going to kill Andy. Reflecting upon the plot now, Contraband runs a lot of parallels to Gone in Sixty Seconds. Only instead of cars, it’s drugs.

Contraband has some very interesting twists and by the time Wahlberg is on the ship to Panama I was upright in my seat, eyes glued to the TV set, my heart pounding. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes action movies. My only regret is that we didn’t get to see it in theaters.

Action-packed movie with Mark Wahlberg–I’d give it four out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

