Becky’s Seventeeth Book Review: “Mirror Mirror” by Gregory Maguire

I finished reading “Mirror Mirror” a little while ago. I have to admit, it was a struggle to get through it. I have been hesitant to read more of Gregory Maguire’s work because I always find myself forcing the read. I kind of feel like Maguire tries too hard with his work? He has unique ideas, this is true…but between the poetry and prose mixed in with his own version of a fairy tale I just end up getting bored.

“Mirror Mirror” is Maguire’s version of Snow White. I think that the way that he handled the dwarfs in this book was very interesting…instead of being these happy little men the dwarfs kind of came into being because of their interaction with Bianca (Snow White). Maguire did keep in the idea of the “evil stepmother” bribing a hunter to carve out Snow White’s heart and bring it back in a box. This was done a little differently, the woman who tries to kill Bianca is not actually her stepmother…but she does behave like one in certain ways. Jealousy is the central theme in this story and is crafted well. I do have to give Maguire credit for the unique twist that he brings to his version of fairy tales.

Would I recommend this book? No, probably not. I felt like I spent far too much time on it myself. I prefer to read books that are written at a quicker pace. This book drags out.

Leave a Reply

