Becky’s Eighteenth Book Review: “Dancing on Broken Glass” by Ka Hancock

I stayed up late to finish reading “Dancing on Broken Glass” by Ka Hancock. This book was an excellent read. This book tells the story of a couple whose love is unconventional but amazingly strong. Lucy is one of the main characters, and she has a family history of breast cancer. After losing her mother to it as well as most women in her family Lucy is unfortunate enough to be diagnosed. She fights the battle and wins. Mickey is the other main character. He is Lucy’s loving husband who has been diagnosed with bipolar disorder. Together Lucy and Mickey face endless challenges between her history and his disorder and Ka Hancock tells an amazing story about their love. Because of her history of breast cancer and his disorder Mickey and Lucy agree that children are not in the books for them. Then a miracle happened. Despite having had her tubes tied, Lucy ends up pregnant and the two of them come up against a whole new set of challenges.

“Dancing on Broken Glass” is Ka Hancock’s debut as a fiction writer and I hope that she has more works on the way. This book made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me angry and I also felt like I was really able to connect with the characters. When a person has bipolar disorder they are either type A or type B. Mickey is type A where he bounces back and forth between mania and depression. He is a very eccentric character and there were points when I was glad that I am nothing like him. I do happen to have bipolar disorder although I am type B so it is much easier for me to keep my disorder under control. In a way it was nice reading about how much worse I could be.

Lucy has amazing patience when it comes to dealing with some of the messes that Mickey gets himself into and part of this stems from her having a very supportive family. Lucy has two sisters in the book and was raised in a loving community where many of her neighbors stepped in and helped parent the girls once their mother had died from breast cancer. (Very early in the book we find out that their father was shot while working as a cop). The relationships in this book are very moving and something that I hope to find in my life. Happily, I have two very healthy parents who have always been there for me and when I was reading about how close Lucy is with so many different people who turned into surrogate mothers I was reminded of how special my relationship is with my family and especially my parents.

Would I recommend this book? ABSOLUTELY!! The book is filled with emotion and it really was a great read. I was just sorry when it was over.

One thought on “Becky’s Eighteenth Book Review: “Dancing on Broken Glass” by Ka Hancock

  1. John Bentrim says:

    What an emotional roller coaster. I have not cried so much in decades.

Leave a Reply

