Becky’s Fourteenth Book Review: “Darkly Dreaming Dexter” by Jeff Lindsay (compared to Season One of Dexter)

It is a rare thing for me to watch something before reading the book. Part of the reason that I watched Dexter before I read the books is that I didn’t know that the books existed! Silly me. Now that I know, I am going back and forth between reading the Dexter series and watching it on TV.

What was really fun about reading the book and watching the show is seeing how the producers took the show and made it their own while still giving plenty of credit to Jeff Lindsay’s original idea. There were some really subtle messages in the show that were directly reflecting Jeff Lindsay’s writing. For example, there are multiple times in the book when Lindsay uses alliterations. He does it throughout the book and I really liked how he used the same literary tool but make it unique every time. Here is a quick quote:

“And the Need was very strong now, very careful cold coiled creeping crackly cocked and ready, very strong, very much ready now–and still it waited and watched, and it made me wait and watch” (Lindsay, Jeff. “Darkly Dreaming Dexter”. Vintage Crime/ Black Lizard Vintage Books: New York, pg 1).

I really like the writing styles that Jeff Lindsay uses. His writing is very accessible and yet intelligent. There are some differences between the book and the show, most of them subtle though. Names have been changed…some situations turn out slightly different. The big things are the same though. The characters that Lindsay creates are displayed almost perfectly in the show.

I would strongly recommend both the book and the TV series to anyone. There’s a dark comedic feel to them both which is refreshing. I know that the idea of a serial killer being refreshing may be a bit much for some people, but I think it helps that the audience sympathizes with Dexter and almost gives him a pass because he kills only ‘bad guys’. Dexter channels the darkness inside him to protect the innocent by taking out the trash.

Leave a Reply

