Becky’s Thirteenth Book Review: “I’ve Got Your Number” by Sophie Kinsella

I’ve mentioned before how Sophie Kinsella is one of my favorite authors, she never disappoints! Her newest work, “I’ve Got Your Number” is so much fun. Her style is slightly different in this book as throughout the book there are entertaining footnotes. I’ve never before encountered footnotes that I want to read, but I found myself looking forward to the witty comments.

“I’ve Got Your Number” starts with the main character, Poppy Wyatt losing her engagement ring. And it isn’t any engagement ring, her fiance went to the safety deposit box at the bank to retrieve the ring–a family heirloom. So when the audience first meets Poppy, she is in a total panic trying to find her ring. Then she goes outside to try to find a better signal so that she can retrieve her messages and someone steals her phone right out of her hand. At this point, Poppy is beside herself, not only does she not have her engagement ring, but now she doesn’t have anyway to be reached. A quick quote from the book:

“Now that I’ve calmed down a bit, I’m starting to churn with murderous thoughts. Does that hoody guy realize he’s wrecked my life? Does he realize how crucial a phone is? It’s the worst thing you can steal from a person. The worst.” (Kinsella, Sophie. “I’ve Got Your Number”. The Dial Press: New York, pg 15).

Now that Poppy has had her phone stolen, she is in a panic until she glances in the trash can and sees a phone. This is where the adventure begins. Poppy takes over the phone, which happens to have belonged to this guy Sam’s personal assistant. The P.A. quit with no notice, tossed the phone and it fell into Poppy’s lap. As far as Poppy is concerned, anything in the trash is fair game…something that Sam does not agree on.These two come to a funny compromise which leads to them building an entertaining friendship.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good comedy. This is another chic-lit book, but there is no reason that a guy couldn’t enjoy her writing as well. It is just such a good read.

2 thoughts on “Becky’s Thirteenth Book Review: “I’ve Got Your Number” by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Merely wanna input on few general things, The website style and design is perfect, the content material is rattling wonderful : D.

  2. Dede Courter says:

    You have mentioned very interesting details! ps decent site.

Leave a Reply

