Becky’s Tenth Book Review: “Web of Dreams” by V.C. Andrews

SPOILER ALERT: Do not read if you have not read the earlier books in this series (and are planning to)

“Web of Dreams” is the fifth and final book in the Casteel Family series by V.C. Andrews. The first three books in the series are narrated by Heaven, the fourth by her daughter Annie and then there is “Web of Dreams” which begins with Annie finding a diary filled out by Leigh, Annie’s grandmother and Heaven’s mother. So the majority of the novel is Leigh telling her story.

I felt that this novel wrapped up the series very well. It begins with Annie and Luke coming back to Farthy for a funeral. Troy, whom had a love affair with Heaven is Annie’s biological father. It was his funeral that they were attending. Annie discovers Leigh’s diary and we get to learn about everything that she went through that lead to her fleeing to the Willies where she would die giving birth to Heaven. 

A good deal of this novel is devoted to educating the readers about Leigh’s family. The more I read about Jillian, Leigh’s mother, the more I hate her. All of the tragedies that Leigh lives through one way or another can be lead back to Jillian. She is one of the most selfish characters I have ever been introduced to. The more I read about her the more I appreciated how different my life is.

The Casteel family series is the first series that I have read by V.C. Andrews. I am looking forward to reading the rest of her works. I would definitely recommend this series. It is an entertaining read with lots of twists and turns. Overall, it was quite enjoyable.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s