Becky’s Fifth Book Review: “Twenties Girl” by Sophie Kinsella

Just finished reading “Twenties Girl” by Sophie Kinsella. This is not the first time that I’ve read this book, each time I find it more entertaining. Sophie Kinsella is one of my favorite authors. “Twenties Girl” is a fun chic-lit book with a new twist…it is also a ghost story.

The story centers around Lara Lington and her great-aunt Sadie. “Twenties Girl” starts with Lara and her family attending Sadie’s funeral. She had lived to one-hundred and five. During the funeral, Lara all of a sudden hears someone asking where her necklace is. Lara then realizes that she is the only one who can hear and see this person who turns out to be her great-aunt Sadie at age 23. One thing leads to another and Lara ends up promising Sadie that she will find her necklace.The two go on an adventure together to recover this necklace for Sadie. Throughout the book Lara learns about Sadie and her life.

When I was reading this book and witnessing the connection between Lara and Sadie it made me think about the older women in my life. More specifically my Omi and my Grandma. I feel like I know so little about their lives. My Grandma was born in 1913…if I just pause and think about all the history that has unfolded since then, it’s overwhelming. And I know that Omi lived through WWII, going through things like having to run out of her home with a wet towel on her head because her house was bombed. It’s interesting how such a light read leads to so many incites.

Kinsella knows how to write a feel-good novel that has many laugh-out-loud moments. She develops characters in a way that lets the reader really connect. I’m sure that her books appeal more to women, but her books are fun and there is no reason that a guy couldn’t enjoy her books as well.

Leave a Reply

